Official Optima Challenge Results Are In!!

 2012 OPTIMA® Ultimate Street Car Invitational Captivates Sold Out Crowd

Mark Stielow and his high-performance ’67 “Mayhem” Camaro wins 2012 OPTIMA Invitational by one point margin

Nov. 8, 2012 (MILWAUKEE) – The fifth annual OPTIMA® Ultimate Street Car Invitational, presented by K&N Filters and Royal Purple, brought in massive crowds with a sold out event, more thrilling moments and record times, ultimately crowning Mark Stielow and his custom 1967 Chevrolet Camaro as the 2012 OPTIMA Ultimate Street Car. It was a year for close competition with the top two participants separated by a single point and a tie for third place overall. Additionally, there was a more diverse showing of vehicles this year with nearly 20 percent of the field falling under the import category.


The OPTIMA Invitational packed the grandstands with non-stop activity, something for everyone in the manufacturer midway, on-the-ground excitement of television personalities (Amanda Salas and Bill Goldberg) filming the miniseries finale of the OPTIMA Ultimate Street Car Invitational broadcast series.


The main race events of the OPTIMA Ultimate Street Car Invitational took place Saturday, November 3, with the BFGoodrich Hot Lap Challenge, Ridetech Autocross Challenge, Wilwood Disc Brakes Speed Stop Challenge, and the Lingenfelter Performance Engineering Performance and Design Challenge. The Detroit Speed and Engineering/JRI Shocks Road Rally occurred following the close of the SEMA Show Friday, November 2.


Final Results


The 2012 OPTIMA Invitational top 25 ranking participants are listed below and additional final results can be found online at


1. Mark Stielow (1967 Chevrolet Camaro)

2. Brian Hobaugh (1973 Chevrolet Camaro)

3. Todd Earsley* (2003 Mitsubishi Lance Evolution 8 GSR)
3. Bret Voelkel* (1933 Ford Coupe)
5. Travis Hill (2013 Nissan GT-R)
6. Steven Rupp (1968 Chevrolet Camaro)
7. Danny Popp (2010 Chevrolet Camaro L28)
7. Kyle Tucker (1970 Chevrolet Camaro)
7. Karl Dunn (2007 Ford Saleen Parnelli Jones Mustang)
10. Brian Finch (1972 Chevrolet Camaro)
10. Jim Holloway (2013 Ford Mustang RTR)
12. Phil Gerber (1970 Chevrolet C10 Pickup)
12. Ryan Mathews (1966 Ford Mustang)
14. Bob Bertelsen (1971 Chevrolet Camaro)
15. Rob McGregor (1970 Chevy C10 Pickup)
16. Chris Smith (1967 Chevrolet C10)
17. Joey Seely (1986 Porsche Carrera)
18. Dale Akuszewski (1964 Sunbeam Tiger)
18. Jeff Cleary (1967 Chevrolet Corvette)

20. David Brandt (1969 Chevrolet Camaro)
20. Todd Foust (1965 Ford Mustang Convertible)
22. Todd Rumpke (2010 Chevrolet Camaro)
23. Curt Hill (1972 Chevrolet C5 Blazer)
24. Brad Coomer (1970 Chevrolet C10)
25. Stacy Tucker (1969 Chevrolet Camaro)

Hill’s At SEMA With The Blazer

Check out Curt at SEMA where he will be competing with Brett’s Blazer in the Optima Ultimate Street Car Invitational.  Tons of really cool and diverse competition.  Check out the article here:

Check out Hill’s This Weekend!

This weekend, Erik will be at Billetproof with his 50 Chevy Kustom, and he says it’ll finally have some color on it.  Stop by and check out the metal work and trim work Hill’s did.

On Sunday, come see Erik and Curt at the Danville Councours.  We will have the Speed Nymph record setting streamliner on display.

Hill’s Hits Pebble Beach

Curt and some of his teammates from Speed Nymph took in all of the glory of Pebble Beach in August.  On hand were several cars that Curt has had a hand in, including an amazing Soutchek-bodied Hispano-Suiza.

Hill’s has a couple of other cars in the works that will compete at Pebble in the future.

Speed Nymph Sets New Record

Just on the way back from Bonneville after thrashing hard for 6 days straight.  We had some crazy weather come through, some minor issues with the car and way too many beers!

Dennis was able to beat his previous record by over 4mph, and once we got the bugs worked out of the new engine it was all good!

Hill’s Wins Again At Gambino’s

Hill’s customer, Erik Lind, wins another trophy on his “in-progress” 1950 Chevy Kustom.  Erik took home the “Most Improved” trophy presented by Alex Gambino amongst a field of pretty amazing cars.

“The Sit Down is an invite-only kustom show, and just to be invited is pretty awesome,” says Erik, “to be chosen from this field is amazing. Thanks to Alex for a great show!”

Big congrats to Erik!